Dipping my toes into complexity theory

 

Source

Serena Chan, Complex Adaptive Systems

What did I learn from this material?

  1. Complexity theory is not an easy to grasp. It’s complex! 😛
  2. Complex adaptive systems are “characterized by apparently complex behaviors that emerge as a result of often nonlinear spatio-temporal interactions among a large number of component systems at different levels of organization” – a healthcare system or education system both fit this definition.
  3. “CAS are dynamic systems able to adapt in and evolve with a changing environment.”
  4. “complexity results from the inter-relationship, inter-action and inter-connectivity of the elements within a system and between a system and its environment” – this fits with my PhD theory.
  5. Emergent behaviour is the result of CAS. i.e. behaviours and patterns emerge from CAS. These patterns can be disordered (e.g. second law of thermodynamics) or, surprisingly, ordered. Self-organisation is an inherent property of a CAS.

What further questions have arisen from this material?

Instinctively, I feel that CAS theory fits in with my own education theory – Do I need to incorporate it, and if so, how?

Where can I use this?

Potentially in my PhD

When can I use this?

First paper?

Who needs to know this?

Deep thinkers

Quotations

“Order can result from non-linear feedback interactions between agents where each agent goes about his own business.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.